November 10, 2011

Minister of Veterans Affairs and MP Poilievre Honours Two Local Residents


Ottawa – Fourteen citizens from Ontario and one from Gatineau (Quebec) were honoured on November 10th, 2011 for their commitment and dedication to Veterans. The Honourable Steven Blaney, Minister of Veterans Affairs, presented these individuals with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation during a ceremony in Ottawa. As well, Pierre Poilievre, Member of Parliament for Nepean-Carleton paid special tribute to two of his constituents that had received this Commendation.

Mr. William Black is a Veteran of the Korean War and a long-time member of the Korea Veterans Association. Mr. Jon Wadleigh is a Veteran of the Second World War and has been dedicating the past five years volunteering at the Perley and Rideau Veterans’ Health Centre. Both men were honoured at this special ceremony with a certificate of congratulations from MP Poilievre.

“These individuals have made a real and lasting difference with their service and dedication to our nation’s truest heroes,” said Poilievre “On behalf of all Canadians, I am proud to acknowledge their extraordinary efforts in helping to provide the care and recognition our Veterans and their families deserve. Today we recognize their hard work and we honour them.”

The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation includes a bar, which can be worn below official decorations on a Veteran’s blazer, as well as a lapel pin for civilian wear and a certificate.

The Commendation is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

Find more information on the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation, including the accomplishments and biographies of the recipients, at

[photo caption from left to right: MP Pierre Poilievre, Mr. William Black, Mr. Jon Wadleigh, Minister Steven Blaney]